Florence Gould Theatre

Originally called the Little Theater, the Florence Gould Theater opened at the California Palace of the Legion of Honor in 1924. The Gould Theater was designed by George Applegarth, architect of the museum itself, and decorated in the Louis XVI style. The ceiling of the 333-seat jewel-box theater boasts an elaborate mural, The Apotheosis of the California Soldier, painted by Spanish artist and decorator Julio Villa y Prades. The Little Theater was rededicated as the Florence Gould Theater in 1987, after an extensive restoration and renovation funded by a grant from the Florence J. Gould Foundation.